Topic: A few suggestions

I love the game. Really. And here's what I'd love even more (except for the obvious - weapons, maps, etc).

- Some text showing up every time you frag someone or someone frags you. Well, actually I was thinking of a rip off of Quake where you also have emblems for fragging twice (or more) in a row.

- Server bookmarks. Really crying for it.

- And here's something I couldn't come up with a solution for: a way to limit random frags. Really don't know what to do about it, just some food for thought.

- Replays! :-)

And some technical stuff:

- Plain-text map formats (XML maybe?) - would make writing tools for the game a lot easier.

- You've denied source code modifications - so at least make it possible to mod the game in some sane way.

- Sane output in server logs (make it easier to parse)

I'm a developer myself and I'd love to help with programming in my free time. I just need to finish one of my projects first and I'll get back to you.

Overall - great job! The game really rocks. Thanks!

Re: A few suggestions

Hey, and welcome to the Teeworld smile

Most of your concerns will be addressed in some way or other, except the XML map format. We need a tight binary format that's easily transferred from server to client. Also, the 0.4 release features a very rich editor. Hopefully that should satisfy the mappers.

Feel free to stop by #teewars-dev anytime if you have any questions about the code, or feel like contributing. Or talking about pie.

Mmm... Pie.

robzon wrote:

I love the game. Really. And here's what I'd love even more (except for the obvious - weapons, maps, etc).

1. Some text showing up every time you frag someone or someone frags you. Well, actually I was thinking of a rip off of Quake where you also have emblems for fragging twice (or more) in a row.

2. Server bookmarks. Really crying for it.